City of Appleton City Launches a New Website! Subscribe Today! - August 07, 2017

City of Appleton City is proud to announce the launch of our new website. Subscribe to our site ... [more...]



The City of Appleton City City Council acts as the legislative branch of our government, as well as its policy-making body. The Council looks to the city's goals, major projects and infrastructure improvements ranging from community growth to land use to finances and strategic planning. The Council's goal is to do the very best to represent their constituents after they've seen to the needs of the city as a whole.

Appleton City is a fourth-class city under Missouri State Law.  The City is governed by a four-person Board of Aldermen and an elected Mayor.  The Mayor is elected to a two-year term.  Each Alderman is also elected to a two-year term. 

Currently serving as Board of Aldermen are:

North Ward I

  Tom Holt (term expries April 2018)

   Kinleigh Preston (term expires April 2019)

South Ward II

   Tommy Payton (term expires April 2018)

   Larry Dines (term expires April 2019)

Additionally each Alerman is appointed as director over a City department.  Current director appointments are:

Fire & Finance:  Alderman Larry Dines

Library & Economic Development:  Alderman Tommy Payton

Police & Public Works:   Alderman Tom Holt

Park & Cemetery:   Alderman Kinleigh Preston